Sunday, April 11th, 2021


Rotarians Award Scholarships

Each year the Chesapeake Rotary Club honors a student from each high school with a scholarship. The event is among the most inspiring of the year as each student, introduced by his or her principal, addresses the club.

A committee chaired by former Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Fred Bateman, then selects one of the students to be the club's Student of the Year and receive an additional scholarship. This year's Student of the Year was Kelly Murphy from Great Bridge High School.

Carolyn Barnard addresses the guests and Dr. Fred Bateman

From left: Rotary President SuAnne Hardee Bryant, Indian River High School Valedictorian Dejah Singh, Hickory High School Valedictorian Jasmine Peneda, Great Bridge High School Valedictorian Kelly Murphy, Deep Creek High School Valedictorian Ashley Hilton, Western Branch High School Valedictorian Edwin Davis Rudisill, Grassfield High School Valedictorian Rebekah Selbrede, Oscar Smith Valedictorian Curtis Commander Jr., and Dr. Fred Bateman

Dr. Fred Bateman, left, chats with Phil Rudisill

From left: Oscar Smith Valedictorian Curtis Commander, Jr. with his proud parents Melinda and Curtis

From left: Russ Hanson with son David and Tom Dana

From left: Joan Bateman, Steve Best, and The Shopper publisher Jean Loxley-Barnard

Outgoing Rotary President and attorney SuAnne Hardee Bryant chats with a parent of one the student awardees

Warren Aleck greeted The Shopper publisher Jean Loxley-Barnard