Tuesday, April 20th, 2021


Drive Safe Hampton Roads

The Suffolk Police Department has been honored as the recipient of the 2017 John T. Hanna Drive Safe Hampton Roads Award for Law Enforcement Initiatives.

Drive Safe Hampton Roads (DSHR) is a non-profit regional coalition whose
mission is to increase the community's involvement and awareness of traffic safety issues.  This organization is made up of individuals from law enforcement, corporate safety, the military, state agencies, safety advocates, fire safety personnel, city and county municipalities, commercial transportation carriers, and individuals with an interest in preventing crashes, injuries, and fatalities on our roadways.

For 30 years, Drive Safe Hampton Roads has been recognized as a leader in the field of transportation safety and serves as a resource for information and support at the local, state, and national level. The John T. Hanna Awards are sponsored by Drive Safe Hampton Roads and are given to recognize Traffic Safety Excellence in Hampton Roads. 

From left: Police Chief Thomas Bennett, Sergeant Herman Kee, Lieutenant Timothy Duncan, Officer Benjamin DeLugo