Sunday, April 11th, 2021


Portsmouth Sports Club Jamboree

The 70th annual Portsmouth Sports Club Jamboree was held at the Portsmouth Renaissance Hotel.  President Ned McCabe welcomed the attendees and introduced WAVY-TV and WVBT-TV Sports Director Bruce Rader as the Master of Ceremonies.  The High School coach of the year was Tony Reynolds from Woodrow Wilson High School. The female athlete of the year was Naomi Whitaker of I.C. Norcum High School, and the male athlete of the year was Carleek Owens of Churchland High School. Robert Tucker was named Sports Person of the year and Ned McCabe was honored as the Sports Club Member of the Year. Guest Speaker Roy White gave an enlightening presentation on his career with the New York Yankees.

Pictures by JC Smith

Back row from left: David Martin, Dave McManus, Chesapeake School Board Member Louis Tayon, Steve Best, Buddy Bagley, Phil Johnson, Sports Club President Steve Johnson. Front row: Kaye Martin.

Back row, from left: Portsmouth Commissioner of Revenue Franklin Edmondson, Merrill Craig, Chesapeake School Board Chairperson Christy New Craig. Front row, from left: Kathy Edmondson, Lester Lipford, and Earl Brinkley.

Current lifetime members, from left: Bill Leffler, WAVY-TV and WVBT-TV Sports Director Bruce Rader, Portsmouth Treasurer Jimmy Williams, and Gene Luke

Bill Leffler, left, and new Honorary Member Barry Saunders

Portsmouth Treasurer Jimmy Williams, left, and 2015 Sports Club Member of the Year and Club President Ned McCabe

Former New York Yankee Roy White and Shopper Public Relations Executive Dr. Glenn Fritz

Guest Speaker Roy White, left, and Dave Martin

Scholarship recipients, from left: JoonMo Yon, Langley Mancusi-Ungaro, Elizabeth Andrews, Kurtis Brinker, Yong-Jin Park, Jordan E. Thornton, and Willie Marrow. Not pictured: Jordan Hill.

Richard Hundley, left, and Carleek Owens, the male high school athletic award recipient

Female high school athletic award recipient Naomi Whitaker, left, and Sharon Moore

Scholarship recipients, from left: Kurtis Brinker, Elizabeth Andrews, Yong-Jin Park, and JoonMo Yon